"…mais ce serait peut-être l'une des plus grandes opportunités manquées de notre époque si le logiciel libre ne libérait rien d'autre que du code…"

Michele Simionato: The decorator module version 3 is out!

Posted by patrick sur décembre 16, 2008

Source: http://www.artima.com/weblogs/viewpost.jsp?thread=245050 (« After a few weeks of work, version 3 of the decorator module is finally out. The new version is a major rewrite of the original implementation, lots of things have been improved under the hood, and the documentation has had a major overhaul too. The module is hosted on the PyPI site: http://pypi.python.org/pypi/decoratorThis post is intended for users of old versions of the decorator module who want to know what’s new and the reasons for the change. Version 3 is a major release and it breaks compatibility with the past in a minor way, but I expect 99.9% of my users to upgrade to the new version without seeing any difference. You can download the tarball here.

Here is a list of the most relevant changes/improvements.

  • I have completed the move to PyPI. For a long time I have wanted to move the package from my site (which is hosted on the Pittsburgh University servers and completely out of my control) to PyPI. The first version to be hosted on PyPI was version 2.3.2, released two weeks ago. The impressive thing – to me, at least – is that I had 1008 downloads in thirteen days: incredible! I have no idea of how many downloads I had for the previous versions, so I cannot compare, but from now on I can have an idea of the popularity of the module. That’s good. The move to PyPI was not complete however, since, the documentation for the module was still hosted on my site. With version 3.0, instead, everything is hosted on PyPI….

There are also a few considerations I would like to make.

From the start the decorator module was developed with the attitude of teach a man to fish: instead of providing a large API, I have provided a significant collections of examples and recipes. The idea is that you should be able to write your own decorators by yourselves. Version 3 of the module is going even more in that direction.

I have refactored the internals so that now you can not only write you decorators on your own, but you can also write your own decorator facility – the equivalent of decorator – by means of the FunctionMaker class. At the same time the rewriting makes the module more of a library and less of a framework. For instance, in past versions you were forced to write your decorators in terms of caller functions with the signature caller(f, *args, **kw); now you can write your own decorator framework and use the conventions you like. In the documentation I give the example of decorator_apply, which is able to convert third party decorators into signature preserving decorators without rewriting them.

I did not expect the decorator module to leave so long (it is nearly four years old already). In my original intentions, the module was intended to be provisional, a workaround that should have been dropped once better support for decorators entered in the standard library. Unfortunately that never happened. It is true that Python 2.5 added some support for decorators in the functools module, but that support is insufficient in my opinion. Also, I had great hopes for the Function Signature Object (PEP 362) but after more than two years nothing happened. I still hope it will become possible to change the signature of functions in future versions of Python: when that will happen, the decorator module will become obsolete and I will have less code to maintain.. »)

Laisser un commentaire

 
