"…mais ce serait peut-être l'une des plus grandes opportunités manquées de notre époque si le logiciel libre ne libérait rien d'autre que du code…"

Des nouvelles de python : pycon2008, python 3000, jython, LINQ, concurrency, django

Posted by patrick sur mars 31, 2008

Après presque 3 semaines sans blogger, quelques nouvelles de Pycon 2008

http://www.python.org/doc/essays/ppt/pycon2008/Py3kAndYou.pdf (« Guido nous parle de Python 3000 dans un document de 21 pages. Quelques extraits: Why Py3k: “Open source needs to move or die”,What’s In It For You: More predictable Unicode handling, Makes “Python fits in your brain” more true, TOOWTDI (There’s Only One Way To Do It — The Zen of Python),  There are tools to help you switch!,  Don’t bother with the trivial stuff though:  The 2to3 tool will handle this, In 2.6:  Use bytes and b’…’ for all data,  Use unicode for all text, The Role of Python 2.6:  Many 3.0 features backported,  More volunteers needed! Transition Strategies:  Port to 2.6 first,  Using 2to3 whenever you can, Release Schedule:  The 3.0final release is now scheduled for September 3, 2008, Wrapping Up:  Have fun with the new features,  Enjoy fewer bugs, traps, surprises, Resources: http://docs.python.org/dev/3.0/whatsnew/3.0.html ,  PEPs: http://python.org/dev/peps/pep-3000/,  Subversion:  svn.python.org/view/python/branches/py3k/ )

http://www.artima.com/weblogs/viewpost.jsp?thread=227041 (« I’d like to take this opportunity to remind you of a really important issue that I neglected to mention in the talk: Don’t change your APIs incompatibly when porting to Py3k.
Yes, you heard that right: even though Python 3.0 is changing incompatibly, I implore you (especially if you’re maintaining a library that’s used by others) not to make incompatible changes to your API. If you have make API changes, do them before you port to 3.0 — release a version with the new API for Python 2.5, or 2.6 if you must. (Or do it later, after you’ve released a port to 3.0 without adding new features.
« )

http://www.sauria.com/blog/2008/03/20/pycon-2008/ (« …Raymond’s talk gives a cost model for the core containers, and having an understanding of that model is important for folks who are writing Python programs. It’s also useful for developers of alternate Python implementations because it allows them to follow suit or to diverge and (hopefully) document the places where the cost model is different. My next favorite talk was Jim Baker’s “More Iterators in Action”. I missed the talk given last year, but I liked this one. Jim hit two of my favorite topics, language integrated query (LINQ) (albeit without the DSL), and concurrency. There was a lot of interest in concurrency this year, which warms my heart, because I see high-level/dynamic languages and concurrency as the chocolate and peanut butter…If I was surprised about the jump in size of PyCon, I was even more surprised by the amount of energy around Jython. At most of the previous PyCon’s that I attended, people would mention Jython, and either be sorry that it was too out of date to consider, or be just plain dismissive of it. This year there was none of that. People were very interested in Jython. I was really surprised by how much interest there was, and by some of the people who were interested. It was certainly a nice feeling to sit in the sprint room and occasionally have people pop in to ask if such and such was running in Jython yet, or did Jython support X because package Y needed it…If I was surprised about the jump in size of PyCon, I was even more surprised by the amount of energy around Jython. At most of the previous PyCon’s that I attended, people would mention Jython, and either be sorry that it was too out of date to consider, or be just plain dismissive of it. This year there was none of that. People were very interested in Jython. I was really surprised by how much interest there was, and by some of the people who were interested. It was certainly a nice feeling to sit in the sprint room and occasionally have people pop in to ask if such and such was running in Jython yet, or did Jython support X because package Y needed it »)

http://nedbatchelder.com/blog/200803/pycon_2008_notes.html (« I got back from Pycon last night. I’d taken notes on all the sessions I attended. They’re kind of sketchy, and I don’t know if they’ll be of any use to anyone else, but I figured I’d put them up anyway. My apologies to speakers whom I have crudely paraphrased here. The quality of these notes varies as my energy level waxed and waned. »)

http://us.pycon.org/2008/conference/talks/

http://us.pycon.org/2008/conference/talks/?filter=django

http://us.pycon.org/2008/conference/talks/?filter=concurrency

http://us.pycon.org/2008/conference/talks/?filter=google%20spreadsheets

http://www.artima.com/weblogs/viewpost.jsp?thread=227496 (« I think I’ve been using Python for close to 12 years now, and it’s been my favorite language for much of that time (I’ve given 2 keynotes and one or two talks at the Python conferences. It’s by far my favorite language to consult in). Long enough to get used to the fact that people typically don’t get it (« Yes, I always indent my code like that anyway, but I could never use a language that REQUIRED it!…I’m not into Django myself; I’m more interested in the flexibility of the approach taken by TurboGears 2 (I just spent a significant amount of time cleaning up the TurboGears 2 Wiki Tutorial). However, I think the combination of choices offered by Django + TurboGears covers people’s needs better than a single monolithic approach, and Django appears to be the right solution for a large portion of the applications out there….Regarding Django: It’s great to see Django picking up so much steam. I’ve done a few Django projects and I’m really impressed by it. It really takes advantage of Python’s strenghts. Anybody thinking about creating a web application should check it out. Highly recommended.« )

Laisser un commentaire

 
